Connect with us


Company Of Strangers – Motor City (1992)

A super-group consisting of one-part Sherbet and one-part Australian Crawl team up for a rock hit.



In late 1991, iconic Australian musicians James Reyne, Daryl Braithwaite, Simon Hussey and Jef Scott form a rock supergroup Company Of Strangers – from the brain of producer Hussey.

A borderline jam-session for the quartet, Company Of Strangers released a self-titled singular album in 1992, generating four singles: Sweet Love, Motor City (I Get Lost), Daddy’s Gonna Make You A Star, and Baby, You’re A Rich Man.

While the second single Sweet Love was the highest charting tune in Australia, reaching Number 21 in the 1992 ARIA charts, the first single Motor City (I Get Lost) became more iconic, even though it reached as high as Number 26, and nominated for Best Breakthrough Single for the 1993 ARIA Awards.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply